Thread: PS-100 and FC-3B footswitch info needed

Exclamation PS-100 and FC-3B footswitch info needed. STOP PRESS - The solution is here!

Hi guys. I'm a complete newbie here, this is my first post. I have a PS-100 which is an amazing piece of thinking. I'm looking for a footswitch with which to control it. I know the manual says that any "standard footswitch" will do and I have a Line 6 double switch unit which can be made to control the Fryette perfectly. However...

The PS-100 only has front panel LEDs to indicate which channel is selected and in a live situation this can be awkward, footswitch LEDs would be so much better. It actually has no indication at all as to the state of the Fx Loop. I want to add LEDs to the switching setup which should be a done deal.

I'm an electronics design engineer so this should be a piece of cake - should! There are two basic ways of doing this. 1) LED in parallel with the switch so it lights up when the switch is open, (they usually have a current limit resistor in series with the LED in the footswitch though this may be internal to the PS-100). 2) LED in series with the switch with cathode towards switch and ground, this will lift the lower voltage threshold by about 1.5V-3.3V depending on the LED. The sensing circuitry thresholds are usually designed to cope with that.

I set my footswitch up to the second series option and it works perfectly with my Marshall and H&K amps, both the channel and Fx Loops switch and their LEDs indicate as they should. But The PS-100 which behaves correctly with bare switches stubbornly refuses to do anything when the LEDs are in place. So there is something not quite so standard about the PS-100 switch sensing circuitry. Perhaps its threshold levels cannot cope with the LED forward voltage drop.