Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: New discovery on one of my UL's.....More saturation/gain....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    618
    Rep Power
    29

    Default New discovery on one of my UL's.....More saturation/gain....

    OK, so I was firing up a few amps the other day, just keeping them in the loop....
    I went over to one of my Ultraleads that has a bad power tube. I threw in a new fuse and powered her up to see which power tube was bad. It was the second one from the left.....
    For the few seconds I hit standby, the inside of the tube looked like the Aroura Borialis....LOL Quite beautiful actually...
    So I called Doug over at Dougstubes.com to see if he has a quad of EH KT88's.....In the meanwhile, I decided to try pulling the middle two tubes and running the amp on half power....
    *****NOTE*****
    Make sure you set your impedance on 1/2 of what the load is for this....
    16 Ohm cabinet-set Ohms to 8. 8 Ohm cabinet - set Ohms to 4 etc....
    ************************************************** ****

    So, in short....
    By pulling the two tubes, the amp got a lot more saturated and tighter gain (if that even possible).
    The amp also got a bit brighter, so I had to tame down the treble on both the knob and the EQ, power amp presence set on zero.....Also boosted the bass, mid bass and midrange a bit....
    So for those people who want a little more saturation, give this a shot. It is still retarded loud with the channel level at 9 oclock, and master at 2 oclock. Enough to drown out my drummer.

    I know some people do this with Marshalls etc, but I never personally did this. So I figured I'd throw it out there.
    Give it a shot if you are into messing around a bit.....
    Steve
    NO!!!!!
    I am not Steve Fryette....
    He just builds the most kick ass amps of all time....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    618
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    You must use low power on the standby switch.......
    NO!!!!!
    I am not Steve Fryette....
    He just builds the most kick ass amps of all time....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    San Jose, California, United States
    Posts
    1,217
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    sounds pretty sweet...now if only i owned a UL...lol
    Ultralead
    D120H
    Sig X
    Fat Bottom 4x12
    D412
    Valvulator I

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    964
    Rep Power
    32

    Default

    cool..ill try it out on the classic

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Perth western Australia
    Posts
    305
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I suspect that this will wear out the 2 kt88's quicker as you are now driving the power section into distortion, kinda more like a 5150.
    Sounds like a bowl of fuck

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    122
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    I wouldn't recommend doing this. You need to set the bias if you're pulling two of the tubes.

    Thats also the reason the sound changed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    610
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Actually, you don't need to pull tubes. Just using the Half Power Mode on the standby switch (position I) does the same thing - exactly. It doesn't affect the bias setting.

    Same goes for other models with this feature.

    Dave

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    125
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Would that also mean that using half-power mode on my 2902 would do exactly the same thing?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    122
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by support View Post
    Actually, you don't need to pull tubes. Just using the Half Power Mode on the standby switch (position I) does the same thing - exactly. It doesn't affect the bias setting.

    Same goes for other models with this feature.

    Dave
    Cool, so you can actually only buy two tubes and bias them in the half power-mode and run the amp like that? Could be something for me to do when it's time for a tubechange since I don't need 100 watt anymore and I'm a very poor man

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    610
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate View Post
    Would that also mean that using half-power mode on my 2902 would do exactly the same thing?
    2902 is not Half Power. It's Low Power. It does not disconnect tubes because there are only 2 per channel and you cannot only use 1 tube/ch.
    The 2902 Low Power mode lowers plate voltage.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •