PDA

View Full Version : two cab operation



XPoopX
08-11-2005, 11:37 AM
Okay. I have a silly question.

What would be the best way to run two 16 ohm cabinets using my UL? Each company is different in their recommendations.

Giga
08-11-2005, 02:19 PM
Okay. I have a silly question.

What would be the best way to run two 16 ohm cabinets using my UL? Each company is different in their recommendations.

What do you reckon the options are ?

Giga.

XPoopX
08-11-2005, 04:15 PM
For my old dual, I would run 4 ohms to each cab and for the Bogner, 5150, and Triamp, they say run 8 ohms to each. Basically, I am paranoid about fn' up s!%*.

psychometal
08-11-2005, 11:17 PM
I split it to 8 ohms each for my 2x12 Soldano and 4x12 VHT Straight because I was advised to do it to avoid working the power tubes. Both cabs are 16 ohms.

Joe
08-12-2005, 01:09 AM
>16 ohm cabinets using my UL?

Simple Ohm's Law. Set the amp at 8ohms for 2 16ohm cabs (amp at 4 ohms for 2 8ohm cabs, etc.). This is the correct setting. Your amp "sees" 2 16ohm cabs as 8 ohms.

>Each company is different in their recommendations.

this should not be, I'd love to know why you get mixed info on this, as this is very basic!

XPoopX
08-12-2005, 10:06 AM
>this should not be, I'd love to know why you get mixed info on this, as this is very basic!

Hhahaha.. Hell man, I don't know. I just relay what info I receive.

Thanks for the clarification though. This is what I thought but I just like to clarify things.

Joe
08-12-2005, 01:09 PM
OK I looked at the Rect manual. Because the speaker outs on that amp are limited, they say that using the 2 4ohm outs into 2 16 ohms cabs is a "safe mismatch". They indicate that the correct way to do it is to get a series box so you can go from the 1 8ohm out into a box that has 2 16ohm outs. Lord, give me a break. Safe mismatching is ok, but it's not optimal and will not sound as good. Unsafe mismatching would be a 16ohm out into a 4 ohm cab. That's more like trying to force a gallon of water through a straw as opposed to a garden hose if you know what I mean.

I had no idea this amp had such a crappy speaker out situation. I am not knocking the amp in general, just this part of it. So, if all you get on this amp is 1 16ohm, 1 8ohm, and 2 4ohm outs...and I assume Mesa has planned for your desire to use 2 cabs...so, are all stock Mesa Recto 4X12's 8ohm?

Page 26

http://www.mesaboogie.com/manuals/2chRecto.pdf

XPoopX
08-12-2005, 02:19 PM
Yep. All Mesa cabs I have seen are 8ohms mono. Which stinks.. I hate 8 ohms.

Keep in mind that I had a 98 Rackmount Dual and I think that the newer rectifiers have 1 16ohm, 2 8ohm, and 2 4ohm speaker outputs.

buddadrive
08-12-2005, 03:11 PM
>Which stinks.. I hate 8 ohms.

Well no problem, just use two! :)

XPoopX
08-12-2005, 03:58 PM
Nah... I'll just save up for two other 16ohm cabs. I want a 3/4 stack (VHT/Splawn/Orange)

Grendel
08-12-2005, 11:16 PM
The Mark IV is even worse! It doesn't even have a 16 ohm jack! You can ONLY run one or two 8 ohm cabs (or two 16 ohm cabs, but not one)! Mark IV's are killer, but I hate that Mesa tries to push their cabs on you!