PDA

View Full Version : Why are Fryette amps so dry?

bleed
01-15-2010, 11:01 AM
I mean, technically, whats the reason for their dry character. Why are they not as saturated as Mesa, ENGL and most other hi gain amps?

Is it tubes/bias, pre-amp, power-amp, whats the "secret"?

Racerboy44
01-15-2010, 11:34 AM
I don't think "dry" is even the right word. They are just very clean. The notes don't have any buzz or mess attached to them which most amps have. I also wonder what Fryette does differently.

Giga
01-15-2010, 12:23 PM
Good question. It's really unfortunate there are so few VHT schematics available. Makes it much more difficult to get an idea on how the amp is build up.

Giga

SteveVHT
01-15-2010, 07:38 PM
I think what most people call "dry" is actual clarity of the signal. Most high gain amps have so damn much noise in the signal path that they are referred to as saturated.
Since I started playing through Fryette amps, I have found that my playing has gotten better due to the fact that a ton of noise is not covering up my mistakes. I also find myself turning down the gain on other high gain amps which I would have normally cranked.
In almost every high gain amp I play now, when nothing is being played, there is so damn much background noise, whereas with the Fryettes its like being plugged into a clean amp even with high gain settings.
But that is just my unedjumicated opinion....LOL

Cam
01-15-2010, 09:00 PM
I guess thats Steve s eleven secret herbs and spices :twisted: that makes it finger lickin good

Racerboy44
01-16-2010, 02:10 AM
I think what most people call "dry" is actual clarity of the signal. Most high gain amps have so damn much noise in the signal path that they are referred to as saturated.